Tuesday, 27 November 2012

2012 EFC Rookie fighter of the year – JP Kruger – MMASA Awards

Many new faces graced the Hexagon in 2012, some put on great performances, while others struggled against South Africa’s best fighters. The Rookie fighter of the year is awarded to the fighter who, after making his debut in 2012, went on to excel in the cage.

This year’s rookie fighter of the year is JP “Tinkerbell” Kruger.

At EFC Africa 12, Kruger entered the EFC Hexagon for the first time against dangerous striker Pete Motaung whom he managed to submit via second round Triangle choke. Three months later he dispatched of Mawande Vapi via Rear-naked choke to set up a November tussle with veteran fighter Wade Henderson (a fight I had hoped to see earlier in the year). After a great fight, where Kruger looked impressive on his feet, Tinkerbell was awarded a unanimous decision victory – a great way to finish his first year in the EFC, with a perfect 3-0 record in the promotion.

Rooking fighter of the year - Notable mentions

Boyd Allen

Boyd Allen also had a great maiden year in the EFC. The Fightfit Militia fighter earned three wins over two weight divisions and ended the year with an impressive 3-0 EFC record. Allen defeated Donald Nzirawa at EFC 12, Alain Ilunga at EFC 15 and Amos Hlatshwayo at EFC 17.

To see all award winners, visit my 2012 MMASA Awards page


Post a Comment